School of Humanities

Soochow University is located in the ancient city of Suzhou, known as the "Paradise on Earth". It is not only one of the national "211 Project" key colleges and universities but also a key comprehensive university in Jiangsu Province. Its predecessor is Soochow University founded in 1900. Soochow University has been developed into a comprehensive university with solid foundation and effective school management famous at home and abroad.

The School of Humanities was founded on the basis of the Department of Literature of the former Soochow University. In 1900, the Supervisory Board of the United States established Soochow University according to the Soochow University Council Regulations. The university was then composed of three departments: Department of Literature, Department of Theology and Department of Medicine, which provided the Chinese young people with Western standards of college education. In 1908, the first graduate of Soochow University received a Bachelor's degree certification of literature. In 1919, Soochow University was appointed by the government to organize a "Wu language teaching School which is still a part of Soochow University". In 1920, the Wu language major was launched. In the Spring of 1927, the School of Humanity of Soochow University established lots of departments, such as Chinese, Politics, Economics, Sociology and History. In the autumn of 1950, the Department of Literature & History of the School of Humanity was renamed the Department of Chinese Language and Literature. In October 1952, Sunan Normal University was established in the address of Soochow University, where departments of Chinese Language and Literature, Education, Mathematics, Physics, Biology and Arts were established. In November 1952, Sunan Normal University was renamed Jiangsu Normal University. In September 1955, the Department of Chinese Language and Literature was re-adjusted into Nanjing Normal University. In 1958, the Department of Chinese Language and literature was rebuilt in Jiangsu Normal University, which was renamed the Department of Chinese Language and Literature of Soochow University in 1982. In 1995, it was once renamed the School of Liberal Art of Soochow University, at the same time, the school began to set up the Department of Journalism and Communication. In 1999, the School of Liberal Arts, the School of Sociology, the School of Politics and Management merged and formed into the School of Liberal Arts of Soochow University, so the School of Humanities was renamed the Department of Chinese Language and Literature (Department of Journalism and Communication), belonging to the School of Liberal Arts. In 2005 it was adjusted into the School of Humanities - Journalism and Communication of Soochow University. In 2009, on the basis of integrating discipline of journalism and communication of the School of Humanities - Journalism and Communication, Soochow University cooperated with Hong Kong Phoenix Satellite TV Group established the School of Phoenix Media, and revoked the School of Journalism and Communication. Hence, the School of Humanities - Journalism and Communication was renamed the School of Humanities of Soochow University.

At present, the School of Humanities is located next to the beautiful Dushu Lake in Suzhou Industrial Park.

In more than 100 years history of the School of Humanities, a group of well-known academic masters taught here, including Huang Ren, Zhang Binglin, Wu Mei, Jin Shuyuan, Tang Wenzhi, Chen Yan, Wang Juchang, Cao Zhibi, QianJibo, Lv Simian, Zhou Yutong, Cai Shangsi, Zhou Gucheng, Hu Quyuan, Zhu Dongrun, Xu Guozhang, Qian Zhonglian, etc. The department has an abundance of excellent teachers, creating a teaching research team of high academic qualifications, rich teaching experience, profound academic attainments, and reasonable grades of teaching structure. The total number of faculty is 75, including 26 professors, 21 associate professors; senior personnel accounts for more than 60%; also there are 24 doctoral advisors and 32 master's advisors. In 2008, the teaching group of discipline of Chinese language won the title of "provincial excellent teaching team".

The School of Humanities has one national liberal arts Level I discipline cultivation and scientific research base, one national characteristic discipline – Chinese language and literature. On the basis of the original provincial key disciplines of Chinese Ancient Literature, Chinese Modern Literature, Literature and Art, the Level I discipline of Chinese language and literature was approved as the provincial key discipline in 2008, and was selected the national first-level key discipline cultivation construction sites in Jiangsu Province in 2009. In 2014 it was approved as the "provincial superior key sequencing discipline", and was selected as brand major of Jiangsu Province in 2015. The discipline has undertaken three consecutive phases of "211 Project" key disciplines construction project.

Now the School of Humanities has three divisions: Chinese Language and Literature, Secret"Times New Roman" Science and Teaching Chinese to Speakers of Other Languages. There are also one Overseas Education Center, and one Provincial Key Research Base (the Contemporary Writers Research Base of Jiangsu Province). Besides, there are also more than 10 school-level and school-level research centers, such as the Overseas Chinese Language Research Center, the Chinese Modern Popular Literature Research Center, the Chinese Language and Chinese Language Application Research Center and the Cross-cultural Research Center. The school has one first-level doctor's degree discipline authorization center – the Chinese Language and Literature, with a postdoctoral moving station and 10 doctor's degree centers(including direction); and one first-level master's degree discipline authorization –Chinese Language and Literature, with 8 academic master's degree centers and 2 professional master's degree centers. There are four undergraduate majors (directions), including Secret"Times New Roman" Science, Chinese Language and Literature (teacher-training), Chinese Language and Literature (base), and Chinese Language International Education.

Over the past few years, the School of Humanities has achieved harmonious development between teaching and scientific research and cultivated more than 10,000 students for our country. Owing to all of those, the school has a much more impact at home as the years goes.

Office Address: the Comprehensive Building of Liberal Arts No. 1005, Dushu Lake Campus, Soochow University

Contact: ZhouPin 

Tell & Fax: 65880500