College of Physics, Optoelectronics and Energy


College of Physics, Optoelectronics and Energy has grown successively out of the Department of Physics of DongWu University whose history is more than 100 years. The College of Physics, Optoelectronics and Energy consists of three schools and five institutes, i.e. School of Physics Science and Technology, School of Optoelectronic Information Science and Engineering, School of Energy, Institute of High-tech Industrial Research, Institute of Modern Optical Technologies, Institute of Information Optical Engineering, Institute of Chemical Power Sources and Center for Soft Condensed Matter Physics & Interdisciplinary Research.


The college has a faculty of 268 fulltime staff currently, among whom 153 have doctoral degrees, 62 are professors, and 85 are associate professors. Some of them are honored by Jiangsu Province and National Ministry of Education. At present, there are 400 graduates and 1000 undergraduates enrolled in the college. Every year, students from the college make excellent achievements in all kinds of competitions, such as National Challenge Cup and National Undergraduate Electronic Design Contest.

Research platform

With all the work that has been done, the College of Physics, Optoelectronics and Energy has made great achievements. Its Optical Engineering is now a key program of Jiangsu Province, and Physics of undergraduate has been accredited as a characteristic program by Ministry of Education. The General Physics is a national exquisite course, and the bilingual course Electromagnetism has been accredited as demonstration course by Ministry of Education. The college's Physics experimental teaching center has become a National Experimental Teaching Demonstration Center and the Laboratory of Modern Optical Technology is now a national key laboratory. Moreover, there are six key laboratories of Jiangsu Province. One is the Institute of Modern Optical Technologies, which is also Key Laboratory of Ministry of Education's in Jiangsu Province and the base of National Key Laboratory. The others are Jiangsu Key Laboratory of Thin Film, Jiangsu Key Lab of Advanced Optical Manufacturing Technologies, Jiangsu Key Laboratory of Li-ion battery materials, Laboratory of Industrial product quality control and technical evaluation. Additionally, two Engineering Centers have been  established, Engineering Center for Laser Imaging and Displays of Education Ministry of China and Engineering Center for Precision Optical Manufacturing. Our college has five Public Service Platforms and two Inspection and Testing Centers for Chemical Power Products.

Research areas

The college is research intensive in a variety of fields and work collaboratively across areas. The college has a range of research focus areas, such as Wave Functional Materials, Quantum Optics & Information Technology, Optical Coherence and Polarization Atmospheric Optics Laser Physics, Advanced Optical Manufacturing Technologies, Low Dimensional Physics and Thin Film Materials, Condensed Matter Theory and Materials Computation, Plasmas & Materials Interaction, Soft Condensed Matter & Interdisciplinary Research, Energy storage technologies, Energy storage-saving technologies, etc. Now the college supports two centers for post-doctoral studies, and offers two doctoral Programs (in all sub-fields), eight Master programs, and eight undergraduate programs.


On the basis of all the achievements, more than 200 projects have been granted in the recent years, including "973" and "863" projects, and projects from NASA, Ministry of Education, also, National Science Foundation of China and Jiangsu Province. Different honors and awards have been achieved through the well-done job. Laser digital imaging technology and processing technology of non-spherical, which are independently developed by the college, have been widely applied in various fields of economy. Each year the faculty is granted more than 70 projects from different foundations and funding of more than 50,000,000RMB. And more than 200 papers have been published on SCI, including Nature series, Physical Review Letters, Advanced Materials, Nano Letters etc.. In addition 30 invention patents have been issued. Besides, the program of Physics is ranked within world top 1% in the science field according to ESI citation database.

College of Physics, Optoelectronics and Energy is one of the oldest schools in Soochow University established at the beginning of the last century. Since its founding in 1914, the college has progressed and evolved to match the changing needs of those it serves. It now has programs leading to bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees. And there are two centers for post-doctoral studies. Today, College of Physics, Optoelectronics and Energy has been accredited with good contributions to the society, including scientific research contributions, providing nationally recognized programs and preparing the students to become outstanding professionals.

Cooperation intention

In the future, we hope to promote international academic exchange and boost international cooperation with University of Waterloo in some ways as training programs for undergraduates and graduates and research cooperation for teachers. We hope to run joint-degree programs, including 3+2 for Bachelor/Master and 2+2 Ph.D. programs.


Address: Soochow University, 1 Shizi Street, Suzhou 215006, China

Fax: 86-512-67870271