2018 New Education Forum Held at Soochow

On January 7th, the 2018 New Education Forum was held by the Institute of New Education of Soochow University. Several reputed figures in this field presented at the event, including Professor Zhu Yongxin, initiator of the New Education Experiment (NEE) movement and the Deputy Chair of China Association for Promoting Democracy (CAPD), Mr. Zhang Yong, President of Beijing Times Public Education Technology Co., Ltd., and Professor Jiang Yong, Secretary of CPC Soochow Committee. Some departmental leaders of Soochow such as Professor Zhou Yi, Professor Mu Xiaoyong, and Secretary Jiang Xiaohong also attended in the forum, in addition to a number of practitioners and researchers of NEE. The forum was hosted by Professor Feng Chengzhi, Dean of School of Education.


The attendants to the forum shared their findings and various opinions regarding the NEE. Secretary Jiang congratulated Professor Zhu and his team on wining the top prize of 2017Teaching Achievement Award of Jiangsu Province with the project of "Exploration and Practice of New Education". Jiang also expressed his appreciation for Professor Zhu's endeavor in exploring new educational concepts and practices. Professor Zhu reviewed the development of NEE in the past 18 years and confirmed that he and his fellows would keep enhancing and promoting NEE in the coming year.


A donation ceremony was also held during the forum to support the further development of the Institute of New Education of Soochow, which received 250000 RMB from the research team of NEE lead by Professor Zhu and 1 million RMB from Beijing Times Public Education Technology Co., Ltd. and Beijing Institute of Public Education.