Honorary Professor K. Barry Sharpless from Soochow University won the Nobel Prize Laureate in Chemistry for the Second Time

On October 5th, the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2022 was awarded jointly to Carolyn R. Bertozzi, Morten Meldal and K. Barry Sharpless “for the development of click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry”.

Professor Sharpless has been a Chair professor of Soochow University for eight years since 2014. His relationship with Soochow University began with an academic exchange with Professor Lu Jianmei from College of Chemistry, Chemical Engineering and Materials Science. Professor Sharpless and Professor Lu Jianmei supervised a number of PhD candidates in publishing high-level academic papers in Nature Chemistry and Angew.Chem. Int. Ed, and so on. In 2021, Professor Sharps, Professor Lu Jianmei and other collaborators were awarded “Organic Division Horizon Prize: Robert Robinson Award in Synthetic Organic Chemistry” by the UK Royal Society of Chemistry “for their contributions to multidimensional click chemistry”.

In addition, Professor Sharpless won the Nobel Prize Laureate in Chemistry for the second time. The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2001 was awarded jointly to William S. Knowles, Ryoji Noyori and him for “the chiral compound”.