|   About Soochow University    |   Studying    |   Working    |   Living    |   Research    |   Cooperation    |   Find Places & People    |   Support Us


Honorary Professor Arthur Carty of Soochow University Wins an Award of Contribution to International Cooperation for Jiangsu Province

The Award of Contribution to International Cooperation Contribution for Jiangsu Province is granted to Honorary Professor Arthur Carty,the Honorary Dean of Nano Science and Technology Institute and the Soochow University-Waterloo University Joint Research Institute of Nanotechnology. Professor Carty is the academician of the Academy of Science of the Royal Society of Canada, and served as the first national scientific development adviser to the Prime Minister of Canadian Government from 2004 to 2008, and President of the National Research Council Canada from 1994 to 2004. In addition, Professor Carty is also the winner of the Order of Canada (the highest award of honorfor Canadian citizens), French Medal (the highest award of honor for French citizens), and a number of other scientific and management medals.

With Professor Carty's efforts, the cooperation between Soochow University and University of Waterloo has been expanded from the initial nanotechnology to manifold disciplinessuch as pharmacy, chemistry, material and physics. The cooperation has covered the fields of scientific research cooperation, joint cultivation of students, training of faculties and staffs, and so on. The stable cooperation for years of the two universities has helped forge a friendly partnership, which greatly promoted the international cooperation. We would like to thank Professor Carty for his great contribution to the cooperation and development of the two universities, and to extend our warm congratulations to him!